Your voice was the soundtrack of my summer

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.” – Plato

This quote resonates so deeply within me whenever I read it. The feeling I get really transcends words, and is perhaps beyond my range of vocabulary because I haven’t a slightest clue as to how I should phrase this upwelling emotion into actual words. I would imagine that without music, life would be bleak, mundane and lose its color/vibrancy. From the sound of the cosmos (yes there is actually sound out in space) to the chirping of the crickets, almost all the different entities and elements in our universe create sound. We hear and differentiate sounds using delicate bones in our ears, picking up particular frequencies which our brain processes. It’s really amazing if you think about it; I truly believe the gift of hearing is absolutely beautiful. I sometimes wonder, hypothetically speaking, if I go deaf (or blind for that matter), whether life would lose its meaning for me. One can hope that in the future there will be hearing aids that can bypass the ears and send signals straight to the brain. That would undoubtedly be a godsend to all the deaf people who live in a world of utter and desolate silence.

Music, if you break it down into simple terms, is made up of various different notes. Take 3 notes and you get a chord. Pick 4 chords and you create a progression. Vary the progressions and you get a tune in your head. Put in lyrics into the verses/chorus/bridge and you get a song. It all sounds so simple but yet it is never easy writing a song. You need inspiration and the patience to tweak your song to fit your mood and convey your emotions in the right way. But the most special thing is, it belongs to you; it is unique, because it came from you. That’s the beauty of music. It is there for the taking, anyone can create their own music. Best of all, it can be enjoyed by everyone who’s willing to listen. If you want to strike a chord with someone – pun intended –  I think using music is a good way to begin. Get up, grab an instrument, write a song, because music is a gift for yourself and others; it is not to be missed.

I tried to read between the lines
I tried to look in your eyes
I want a simple explanation
For what I’m feeling inside

-Thunder by BLG

Leave a Reply

