Hmmm…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LyCC6jjcx8

This is a really interesting video talking about how time passes faster as you age. I really recommend watching Michael on his Vsauce channel in your free time because he talks about random but really interesting stuff. I learn new things every time I watch his videos which, by the way, are pretty creative, quirky and captivating. If you’re into discovery, science and technology, or simply an avid seeker of knowledge, go check out the Vsauce channels (there’s Vsauce 1,2 and 3 I think).

It’s now only week 4 in Technion (I heard that it’s week 10 back in NUS already). Surprisingly, it feels like ages since I was back home; last semester felt so very long ago, like a distant, vague memory drifting and dissipating in the abysses of my mind. Hmmm… which is weird because only 3 months have passed by, but it felt more like 6 months to me. I have traveled quite a bit in this period, so like what the video mentioned, I guess my time conundrum can be attributed to the “novelty factor” of being in new places and meeting new people, which hasn’t really worn off just yet. People have asked me if I miss home; and my response is simply a slight shrug with a nonchalant “not really”. I haven’t gotten homesick for now, but I’ve had cravings of Singapore food when think about cooking ideas. Upon hearing that recently there was a mini-drought, a haze and a mosquito outbreak back home, I can count my lucky stars that I’m away from all that at the moment. Sure, there are times when the weather here fluctuates like the stock markets, but I still prefer the weather here over the overbearing, stifling tropical humidity that I grew up in.

I’m enjoying my time here so far, having settled down comfortably in my dorm with Damien and Joshua. I really like spending time with them, because they are people whom you can joke around and say anything bullshit without being judged. Sometimes I feel that our personalities are similar, yet worlds apart at other times. It’s really good that we do a lot of things together, and spending quality bro time living under the same roof really reveals our strengths and exposes our flaws, most especially my own. Though I am usually an easy going person, I have come to understand that for harmonious relationships to blossom, one cannot keep doing things based on one’s personal gain; that at some point compromises have to be made. Personally, I find that it is often for the better to be open to new ideas and learn from others so as to improve yourself, rather than be a stubborn mule who sticks to old habits. I used to be a closet perfectionist who would chide myself for my failings in anything and everything, but nowadays I am more understanding of my own limitations and work around it rather than play the blame game with myself.

Israel is a really fascinating country for all its pros and cons, and I’ve really grown to appreciate its diversity and cultural differences. The societal dynamics is extremely complex and takes a while to comprehend fully; I’m sure even the locals here do not fully understand the country which they are living in as well. The social fabric here is so complicated that I find it amazing that it can still be stitched together (to a certain extent of course). Within the Jews and the Arab communities, they are further cleaved into so many entities, which is mind-blowing to say the least. In some sense it reminds me of multicultural Singapore, but I understand that relations are much more delicately perched due to regional tensions and existing conflicts. Though I cannot proclaim that the people live in peaceful times, because safety can never be compromised over here, I applaud the Israelis for making light of the bleak situations they fight themselves in. Israel has become the Israel that I see and live in today, after all the crazy events that have happened over the years, because of sheer willpower and determination of its people. I have also come to appreciate the past as I learn about the timeline and history of the land.

What I like about the people here is that most of them seem like the direct, no-nonsense and down-to-earth type. They are not shy about speaking out and making their feelings known, which is really, really the exact opposite of Singapore, where most people keep quiet and act blur but all of s sudden become keyboard warriors behind a computer screen. Of course, some of the Israelis may come across as being brash or abrasive in the way they speak and act, but really I think most of the locals are genuine and sincere people. I have a really positive impression maybe because of our buddies make such nice friends <3… I feel blessed and lucky to have met the friends we’ve made so far. In hindsight, it’s a good thing that I emailed to request for a buddy at the last minute because my name was left out in the email list.

I am thinking of working on maybe a short novel or something, but no concrete ideas just yet. Maybe something related to the people I’ve met here would be nice, like a life story perhaps? Then again, I may be too lazy to bring that idea to fruition haha…

One thought on “Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

